Open all year
The Town House
32 High Street
Kirriemuir Gateway to the Glens Museum is situated in the centre of Kirriemuir, within Kirriemuir Town House, a building dating from 1604. The Museum has two floors of displays, along with a reception area and shop, a tourist information area, and toilets, including one accessible to wheelchair users.
Visitors can learn about the origins of the Kirriemuir name and about the lives of famous Kirriemarians Sir J.M. Barrie, author of Peter Pan, geologist Sir Charles Lyell and rock star Bon Scott. A detailed model transports visitors to the town in 1604.
The wildlife, geology, history and archaeology of the Angus Glens – Prosen, Isla, Clova and Doll – is also covered.
Temporary exhibitions showcase objects from the Angus Museums collections, including the ‘Heart of Kirriemuir’, a silver casket presented to J.M. Barrie on 7th June, 1930, when he was awarded the Freedom of Kirriemuir.
Children’s craft events take place throughout the year.
Limited disabled access.