The Retreat and Museum is owned and run by the community of Glenesk and housed in the old Retreat shooting lodge.
Founded in 1955 by Greta Michie, this much admired, richly diverse collection forms an encyclopaedic view of glen history. Some of it is of national significance. A wonderful array of domestic and other artefacts are displayed in reconstruction rooms, telling fascinating stories of lives lived on the land. An extensive agricultural display has recently opened in the old stable block. Children’s activities include dressing up and games.
Facilities include a licensed restaurant, shop, museum, archives, free parking, full disabled facilities, conference and meeting facilities, nature trail and children’s play area. Admission is free.
Our visitors say:
“So awesome it’s ridiculous”
“We came for five minutes and stayed five hours”